Featured Photographer – Laura Perron Photography

logo_1350142537I was looking for photographers to feature on Kijiji, when I came across Laura Perron Photography. She had a few ads on there and I adored all of the pictures! I then went on to view her website and found a whole bunch of photos with my props in it! I was ecstatic to see my props in use and see that they were used with skill and consideration. One thing that I am loving about Laura’s Photography, is the perfect lighting! There are no shadows and you can see every detail so clearly. Good lighting is extremely important when taking photographs and Laura has it down! Another thing that I love about her work is the positioning of the newborns, sometimes it can be a bit tricky but she is able to display these tiny little ones in a way where they look natural and oh so sweet! I am so glad I was able to stumble upon her work and be able to admire it! Thank you Laura!

Balkwill_57 copy

What got you interested in Photography?

I have always enjoyed photography. My first foray into this world started when my parents gave me my first film point and shoot camera when I was 15. I had fun snapping pictures of my friends and I goofing off and also things in nature that I was drawn to. I first ventured into digital SLR photography after our first son was born. When he was 6 months old our point and shoot camera died, so we decided to go for a real upgrade and buy a Canon Rebel Xti. The difference in the quality of pictures that we could now to take inspired me to shoot a lot more. My favourite lens at the time was the Canon 50 mm 1.8 because we could take those dreamy bokeh shots of our little man. We have since had 2 more children and I have taken a lot more photos. In the fall of 2012, my sister asked me to take some family photos to be displayed in her newly renovated living room. I did, and then posted them on facebook. I received a lot of feedback and even some requests for hire. I had always said that “someday” I would love to have a little photography business, but always assumed that “someday” would be in many years from now. After many conversations with my husband, family and friends I decided to go for it and launch what has become known as Laura Perron Photography.

What is your Photography style?

It would depend on the subject matter, but mostly I like taking relaxed and casual photos. I seek to capture those real moments between people that speak to their everyday interactions with each other. For families, I love capturing getting those moments of play between kids and parents. For graduates, I seek to design a shoot that is going to reflect what they are passionate about in life and want to remember about themselves at this important time in their life. For Newborns, I love doing prop shots and have had my work described as “Shabby Chic”.

Balkwill_47 copy

Where do you draw your inspiration from?

I spend a lot of time on pinterest! It’s truly addicting. I have found that photographers are very gracious about sharing their work and ideas. That camaraderie and willingness to support people just starting out is very inspiring. The organization Clickin’ Moms is a great example of such collaboration. I have also enjoyed the ebook Natural Light by Mitchell Kanashkevich. This book has helped me really take in my surroundings no matter what I am doing. I may be driving home from the grocery store, but I am now mindful of how light is interacting with the surroundings. This has helped me scout out new locations for shoots.

What is your favorite type of photo shoot and why?

Hmmm. This is a tough one for me to answer. Currently I am working with graduates and I absolutely love that age group. They are interesting to talk too, and they are easy to work with because they are into the photo shoot. That being said, I do love the babies! Newborn sessions would be a close second, if not a tie. The thing I find most enjoyable about newborn photo shoots is spending time with new moms. There is just a natural safety that moms have with one another and my clients and I often spend the session retelling birth stories, sharing different tricks we have found and just encouraging one another on this journey that we share. I really love that connection. Plus, newborns are so satisfying to take pictures of, especially when you start putting those cute props to use!

Hunter_09

Do you use props in your photo shoots and if so what is your favorite prop to use?

Yes, I use lots of different props in my photo shoots. For babies, I love colourful wraps and headbands, cute hats and diaper covers and interesting baskets to put them in. For grads, I will try to incorporate props that reflect their hobbies. (ie. Sports equipment, musical instruments)

Hunter_08

Where are you located?

I am located in SW Calgary. I do a lot of photo shoots out of my home, but also love trying out new places around the city as well. I live very close to an environmentally protected forest, which doubles for an awesome outdoor studio.

Do you have another job other then photography, if so what do you do?

Yes, full time mommy to Aiden (6 years old), Carter (3 years old) and Piper (1 year old).

 

 

Here is Laura’s Contact information!!

Laura Perron Photography

www.lauraperronphotography.com

lauraperronphotography@gmail.com

403 805 5372

Leave a comment